Fat Quarterly Retreat – Saturday and Sunday

YAY! Ok you ready for Saturday and Sunday?

First things first, the amazing goody bag which we all got, we were truly spoiled!! 4 fat Quarters, four charm packs, a lovely swatch keeper, some sample soaks, some elastic, and thread. Funny thing about the thread is, can you see the one below on the wooden spool, on the plane ride over we were looking at the new Quilt Now mag and seen this new thread in it and my first thought was “I have to get myself some of that, those wooden spools are sooooooooooo cute” So yeah perfect I have one to try lol. Cannot wait to figure out what to do with all the lovely fabric!

FQR2014

SATURDAY!

Saturday morning was screen printing class, and WOW! I loved every minute of it and I soaked up everything that I could from this class, cannot wait to do some more screen printing, I already have such an amazing idea for my strawberry swap!

My first attempt, I decided due to receiving a plain goody bag I’d make it into a FQR 2014 bag lol

FQR2014

I also had another go with some Swedish fishes

FQR2014

My finished items, I also made some fabric, no idea what to do with it, just got overly excited to be able to do screen printing lol. The little bag with the fishes was done for Corrine!

FQR2014

I couldn’t help myself buy some fabric, I’ve been drooling over her fabric for ages, no idea what I’m going to do with it, I JUST NEEDED IT IN MY LIFE lol!

FQR2014

Corrine in her class which was in the same room as my screen printing class

FQR2014

My second class of the day was quilt math, no photo’s because golly my brain was fried really really fried, but I learned so much about the math of quilts and how to calculate allot of things, very happy with the class.

Then it was onto some more Liberty shopping, we had been told over and over again that we needed to go to Shaukat Fabrics for some Liberty and were we disappointing, hell no! I seriously almost face planted myself, the selection of fabric was amazing.

FQR2014

FQR2014

Ok I died and went to heaven when I seen this fabric, wish to God I knew what line it was from, as I really really really need to get my hands on some of it, maybe enough for a dress, yes enough for a dress would be good lol.

FQR2014
FQR2014

Thankfully Shaukat had off cuts to buy so we had a good rummage and I found the below fabric’s to go with my previous two. Taking away the green, which I got just because lol, what theme can you see running through? Yep 70’s child all the way!!

FQR2014

 

Saturday night we got back for some more shopping, I bought a lovely bundle from The Village Haberdashery (will show in a stash post, when I get around to sorting through my luggage, way to much fabric lol) and we stayed till the end of the quiz another late night.

SUNDAY

Yep no photo’s of my first class but it was in touchdraw which I managed to remember to download before going lol. It was a very insightful class, and I learned allot about the app,cannot wait to get my teeth properly into it and learn what it really can do!

My last class of the day was Modern Knots, and boy for such a simple idea it really is an amazing looking finishing piece. I could so see myself finish a quilt this way as it would be lovely and you can do it any which way lol. I also really loved listening Thomas Knauer, his stories were lovely and it shows that he has such a passion for what he does.

FQR2014

 

The rest of the day was spent going to the actually Village Haberdashery shop, where I bought another couple of items! Hmmmm can really see a theme here with the Village Haberdashery, I think I must be obsessed lol!

We also stayed all day Monday, but I wont bore you with photo’s of the Natural History Museum, you can see them all on my flickr account though!

And that brings me to the end of my Fat Quarterly Retreat, and I have quite mixed feelings about it all, now I think back I actually loved almost every moment of it, it was lovely to talk to like minded. Would I go again, hmmmmm only time would tell on that matter.

Leave a Reply

