Fat Quarterly Retreat 2014 Part 1 – Friday – Very very photo heavy

Well I am so late to the party, I think everyone is either asleep on the sofa or swimming in the fountain! Anyho, here are some lovely tidbits, of which I haven’t included all the photos but my favorites.

For the best I have split my Fat Quarterly Retreat into two parts, as I took a million photo’s on Friday and then yeah almost nothing for the rest, mainly because I was focusing so much on the classes, so sit back enjoy my really bad narrative and equally bad photo’s lol!

On Friday we got Michael up to drop us of for the first plane out for the day from the IOM, the sun was shinning and it was getting quite hot, and we were both very very excited!

More FQR photos
More FQR photos
More FQR photos

Touched down and managed to get onto the first train to get to our hotel, and I couldn’t help but take quite a few photo’s of the Tate and Lyle factory!

FQR2014

Obligatory selfie on a train

More FQR photos

How amazing are these archways with the paintings/drawings behind?

FQR2014

We got to our hotel booked in and meet up with Sue, to go shopping!! Cue more trains!

FQR2014

Amazing shop windows

FQR2014

I’ve been drooling over so much online for Anthropologie so actually going into the shop was amazing. I wanted it all, in the end I came out with one amazing fish door nob (in my wishlist). They also had some lovely quilting inspiration in the flooring and patterns.

FQR2014
FQR2014
FQR2014
FQR2014

One day these mushroom dishes will be mine! If I wasn’t worried they might get broken in the traveling they would be already.

FQR2014
FQR2014

AND THEN ONTO LIBERTY! To be honest it’s only recently that I’ve gotten into liberty and after having a proper walk around the store I could see myself buying so so much of the stuff. Thankfully I’m currently in the mindset of only buying fabric I really have a plan for, so I bought two different fabrics which I will show at a later date!

FQR2014
FQR2014
FQR2014

The flowers outside the shop made me want to instantly buy a house around the corner and then buy flowers everyday to fill it!

FQR2014
FQR2014

I wanted this suitcase so so so much

FQR2014
FQR2014

One of the two colours I bought! Super swoon!

FQR2014

My favourite photo of the whole weekend lol! Corrine got super excited about getting some Tula Pink, she didn’t get any liberty only because we were very overwhelmed and thought it was awful we couldn’t buy any FQ of the fabric!

FQR2014
FQR2014

Then we found out the time and had to skip it to get back in time for the start! We stopped of at Muriel’s Kitchen, for a very expensive lunch! I had a lovely chicken escalope with some salad and a brownie which I never got around to eating lol.

FQR2014
FQR2014
FQR2014

Then to the start of Fat Quarterly Retreat yay! A quick hello all around.

FQR2014

And onto my first class which was paper piercing, I was hoping to learn something new in this class, but turns out I have been doing paper piercing right all along lol! Which is always a plus point, so I spent the time getting used to the machine, which was lovely might have to upgrade my £99 special lol.

FQR2014
FQR2014

Cue a massive power cut half way through the class, turns out it was for half the street, but when you go down for a cuppa and a natter, and you see water pouring out of the ceiling and people looking very worried, makes you wonder and makes for a strange day yes?

FQR2014

And then onto my finished item YAY! managed to make one bag (mines the grey and purple one with the very pink heart) I was very happy to finish and I learned a lovely tip about making box bags which more than made up for not learning anything new in the class!

FQR2014

After class Sue and Sue and a couple of other people who I feel God awful about the fact I can remember their names (SORRY!!!) invited us to dinner at a cute Italian place called ASK. The food was lovely and the conversation was amazingly good too, I loved every minute of it!

FQR2014
FQR2014

Then it was back to sew up some quilt tops for the Siblings Together initiative. For a first timer I felt very over my head, the competition side of it was amazing, and it was lovely to be included in such a good deserving charity action.

Onto the last photo’s of the day which were the amazing sunset seen from the terrace!

FQR2014
FQR2014

 

And that’s it for the Friday, loads of photo’s of nothing really. It was a lovely busy day and we didn’t get to bed till some randomly late time due to it being so hot, so so so hot!

2 thoughts on “Fat Quarterly Retreat 2014 Part 1 – Friday – Very very photo heavy

  1. Mrs Flying Blind says:

    Great round-up!

Leave a Reply

